About Us

The Department of Chemistry is located in the college of Natural Sciences of the University of Puerto Rico, Rí­o Piedras campus. It is accredited by the American Chemical Society and by the Middle States Association of Universities and Colleges.

The department has a permanent teaching faculty of 27 (in tenured or tenure-track posistions), 17 of which are active researchers in the following areas: electrochemistry, organic synthesis, crystallography, photochemistry, biochemistry, bioinorganic chemistry, laser spectroscopy, marine natural products, theoretical chemistry and environmental analytical chemistry.

As a result of the department's strong commitment to research, most undergraduate students become involved in research prior to graduation. The Department of Chemistry enjoys a long-standing reputation for excellence within the scientific community.